Skip to main content

Magoffin County General Election 2018 Results


SALYERSVILLE – While it took three hours for all the precincts to report in on Election night, Magoffin saw mixed returns with close races, several incumbents coming back and many new faces.

Long wait times at the polls were common statewide and many Magoffin precincts followed that trend, with voters waiting well over an hour to cast their votes. A reported machine malfunction at the Ward II precinct delayed the Election night returns, but around 9 p.m. the votes were finally tallied (still an hour earlier than the 2014 election). 

While the county judge-executive race was relatively tight most of the night, the last few precincts brought in secured Democrat Matthew Wireman’s victory over Carter Whitaker (R). Whitaker lead in five precincts and the absentees, but Wireman held a winning margin of 455 votes.

In a repeat from 2014, incumbent County Clerk Renee Arnett-Shepherd (D) beat Josie Wireman Bailey (R), with 3,203 votes to Bailey’s 2,394. On Tuesday Shepherd secured 11 precincts, tied in one, and carried the absentees. Comparatively, in 2014, Shepherd carried six of the 14 precincts and the absentees, winning with a 705-vote margin.

In the tightest race of the night, incumbent Sheriff Carson Montgomery (R) squeezed by with a 16-vote victory against David Neil Howard (D), 2,355 votes to 2,339. Independent candidate Rick Jordan received 108 votes and write-in candidate Leigh Ann Meade 688. 

Incumbent Circuit Clerk Tonya Arnett-Ward (D) handily swept her race for reelection by 2,771 votes against Christi Jo Montgomery (R). 

In the property valuation administrator race, Rebecca “Becky” Allen (R) won against Dexter Allen by 522 votes. 

Republican Darrel Ray Howard, who was appointed a few months ago to fill the unexpired term of the previous District 1 magistrate, secured his seat for another four years, winning by 460 votes against Democrat Harlen “Sarge” Rowe. 

In the District 2 magistrate’s race, incumbent Pernell “Buck” Lemaster (D) narrowly won reelection by 20 votes against Eddie Jenkins (R).

With the magistrate of District 3 moving up to the judge-exec seat, two new faces vied for the spot on the fiscal court, with Joe Bailey (D) winning by 193 votes against James Holliday (R). 

In a repeat from 2014, Incumbent Jailer Bryan Montgomery (D) beat Greg Minix (R) by 2,420 votes. 

For Soil and Water Conservation, Kenneth “Poor Boy” Williams, Dallas Patrick and Avavan Arnett-Deaton secured positions on the board.

Incumbent District 1 Constable James Rudd (R) won his reelection against Billy Joe Howard (D) by 553 votes, Wade Collinsworth (R) won the constable District 2 race by 95 votes against Ronnie Howard, and Richard Rex Love (D) swept the constable District 3 race by 447 votes against Roger Darin Gullett. 

Salyersville Mayor James “Pete” Shepherd narrowly won his bid for reelection on Tuesday, beating out former Mayor Stanley Howard, by 20 votes. 

The new Salyersville City Council will include four incumbents and two newcomers, listed in order of most to least votes: Paul Montgomery, Patricia A. Frazier, Tex Holbrook, Jarrod Howard, Michael Connelley and Tommy Bailey. 

Running unopposed on the Magoffin County ballot were Todd Martin (D) for Commonwealth Attorney, incumbent County Attorney Greg Allen (D), incumbent Coroner Mark Jenkins (D), incumbent District Judge Dennis Prater, and current school board members, Rodney Ward, Jesse Rudd II and Doug Collinsworth. 

Mirroring state returns, Magoffin backed U.S. Representative Harold “Hal” Rogers (R) in his reelection to his 20th term in office, as well as the reelections of State Senator Brandon Smith (R) and State Representative John Blanton (R). 

Opposing the state returns, however, Court of Appeals candidate Judge David Allen Barber won more votes in Magoffin, but Judge Larry E. Thompson secured the seat.

Magoffin also reiterated the state’s results in the constitutional amendment, commonly known as Marsy’s Law, geared at providing more victims’ rights. In a recent court ruling, a judge ordered that the wording of the amendment on ballot was too vague, and will be reviewed by the Kentucky Supreme Court.

If the Supreme Court rules to throw out the lower court’s ruling, the law will become part of the state’s constitution. In addition to Kentucky, voters in North Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Oklahoma and Nevada all passed Marsy’s Law.

For full election results, see page A6 for the unofficial statistics available at press time.

While a recanvass, or re-reading of the election night returns, can be requested in any race, it is most commonly requested in tight races. Requests for a recanvass must be filed with the county court clerk by 4 p.m. Tuesday, November 13. If requested, the recanvass will be held at 9 a.m. on Thursday, November 15. 

The Independent will release information as it becomes available about any possible recanvass requests or reports from law enforcement or the attorney general.




Ligula dignissim tempor montes laoreet adipiscing metus ullamcorper sapien nostra sollicitudin convallis mi purus rutrum

Random News