Skip to main content

Dozen from Magoffin County earn All-District honors


SALYERSVILLE - A dozen football players from Magoffin County have earned All-Class 3A, District 8 honors.

Six Hornets were named to the All-Class 3A, District 8 Team. The six Magoffin County standouts honored were Jaylen McDuffus, Nick Caldwell, Zach Porter, Fernando Irvin, Mason Lovely and Lucas Litteral.

Six additional Hornets were named All-Class 3A, District 8 Honorable Mention. The players recognized as Honorable Mention selections were Mack Parsons, Caleb Howard, Ian Prewitt, Ethan Prewitt, Brad Standifer and Caleb Wilson. 

Magoffin County concluded the 2019 season 3-7. The Hornets, under the direction of first-year head coach Chris Gamble, notched wins over Knott County Central, Betsy Layne and Morgan County. Magoffin County dropped games to Martin County, Breathitt County, Belfry, Lawrence County, Floyd Central, Pike County Central and Clay County. 

Magoffin County excelled on the ground in the 2019 season, averaging 241.7 yards and 2.6 touchdowns per game. In 10 games, Magoffin County rushed 277 times for 2,417 yards and 26 touchdowns.


Steve LeMaster

ARH Top 10 Employers