Skip to main content

Seven Lady Hornets named First Team All-Academic

SALYERSVILLE - The Magoffin County Lady Hornets continue to perform well both on the field and in the classroom. Seven members of the Magoffin County softball squad have been named to the Kentucky Softball Coaches Association 2018 All-Academic Softball Team. The honorees from Magoffin

County are Samantha Black, Erin Bolen, Bethany Joseph, Alexis Montgomery, Brooklyn Poe, Kennedi Stacy and Morgan Wilson. Each honoree from Magoffin County claimed First Team honors.

The honors are based off the GPA on a 4.0 scale. Only juniors and seniors are eligible for the honors and each player must have played in 50 percent of their varsity team's games. First Team honorees' GPAs were between 3.75-4.0. Grades are based on cumulative weighted GPAs through the 2017 fall semester.

In addition to Magoffin County, All-Academic honorees hailed from Apollo, Ashland Blazer, Assumption, Ballard, Barbourville, Barren County, Bath County, Bell County, Bishop Brossart, Bourbon County, Boyd Couny, Bracken County, Butler, Calloway County, Calvary Christian, Campbell County, Carlisle County, Central Hardin, Christian Academy of Louisville, Christian County, Daviess County, DuPont Manual, East Carter, East Jessamine, East Ridge, Elliott County, Estill County, Fern Creek, Fleming County, Franklin County, Franklin-Simpson. Garrard County, Glasgow, Greenup County, Harrison County, Hart County, Holy Cross, Hopkinsville, Jefferson Town Lawrence County, Lexington Christian Academy, Logan County, Lyon County, Marshall County, McCracken County, Mercy, Montgomery County, Morgan County, Murray, Newport Central Catholic, Nicholas County, North Oldham, Oldham County, Owensboro Catholic, Paris, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Perry County Central, Phelps, Pikeville, Powell County, Raceland, Rockcastle County, Rowan County, Russell, Sacred Heart, Scott County, Shelby County, South Oldham, South Warren, Southwestern, Spencer County Tates Creek, Trigg County, Union County, Villa Madonna, Wayne County, Whitley County and Woodford County.  

The Lady Hornets are under the direction of head coach Tony Skaggs. Magoffin County concluded the 2018 season 12-13.




Ligula dignissim tempor montes laoreet adipiscing metus ullamcorper sapien nostra sollicitudin convallis mi purus rutrum