Skip to main content

No change in election results


SALYERSVILLE – The Magoffin County Board of Elections convened on Thursday, May 31 for the recanvass of the Magoffin County Primary Election Republican sheriff’s race, though the returns mirrored the results from the prior week.

William “Bill” Meade requested the recanvass in the Republican sheriff’s race, where he lost to the incumbent, Sheriff Carson Montgomery, by 40 votes. When the votes from each precinct were read off and re-tallied, the results remained the same, with Montgomery securing 584 votes, Meade 544, Michael

Nickels 301 and William Jeff Salyer 299. Montgomery will go up against Democrat David Neil Howard in the fall.

Third-place Court of Appeals candidate Gene Smallwood Jr. had also requested a recanvass, though he had lost to David Allen Barber by over 5,000 votes. While the numbers slightly shifted (by 10 votes or less for each candidate) in Thursday’s recanvass, the results stayed the same. 




Ligula dignissim tempor montes laoreet adipiscing metus ullamcorper sapien nostra sollicitudin convallis mi purus rutrum