Skip to main content

Lady Hornets ranked seventh in Preseason 15th Region Poll


SALYERSVILLE - Magoffin County is ranked seventh in the Kentucky Softball Coaches Association Preseason 15th Region Top 10 Poll. 

Defending champion Pikeville occupies the number one spot in the preseason poll while longtime powerhouse Johnson Central is ranked second. 

Lawrence County, Belfry, Paintsville and Pike County Central occupy the other positions in front of the Lady Hornets.

Magoffin County is ranked ahead of Floyd Central, East Ridge and Shelby Valley in the Preseason 15th Region Top 10 Poll. 

Heading into the 2018 season, Pikeville senior shortstop Camryn Slone has been tabbed the top player in the 15th Region. Magoffin County standout Erin Bolen, a junior second baseman, received votes for the 15th Region Top 10 Players list.

Under the direction of head coach Tony Skaggs, former 15th Region champion Magoffin County ended the 2017 season 11-13. The Lady Hornets finished runner-up to longtime rival Johnson Central in the 57th District. Magoffin County lost to eventual champion Pikeville in the opening round of the 2017 15th Region Softball Tournament. 

The Preseason 15th Region Top 10 Poll is as follows: 1. Pikeville; 2. Johnson Central; 3. Lawrence County; 4. Belfry; 5. Paintsville; 6. Pike County Central; 7. Magoffin County; 8. Floyd Central; 9. East Ridge; 10. Shelby Valley. Others receiving votes were Sheldon Clark, Jenkins and Betsy Layne.

The Preseason 15th Region Top 10 Players are as follows: 1. Camryn Slone (Pikeville); 2. Alexis Stanley (Pikeville); 3. Ciana Bowen (Lawrence County); 4. Kailee Rush (Belfry); 5. Cassidy Lowe (Pikeville); 6. Alaina Castle (Johnson Central); 7. Abby Fletcher (Lawrence County); 8. Lindsey McNamee (Pikeville); 9. Paula Dotson (Belfry); 10. Haley Howell (Pike County Central). Others receiving votes were Halli Caudill (Lawrence County), Lindsey Lockhart (Pikeville), Emily Deaton (Belfry), Alyssa Hedrick (Johnson Central), Abi Fannin (Johnson Central), Megan Frazier (Betsy Layne), Caitlyn Coleman (East Ridge), Anna Keaton (Paintsville), Kelsi Slone (East Ridge), Taylor Maynard (Belfry), Erin Bolen (Magoffin County) and Britney Tackett (East Ridge).




Ligula dignissim tempor montes laoreet adipiscing metus ullamcorper sapien nostra sollicitudin convallis mi purus rutrum