Skip to main content

HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL: Hornets suffer shutout loss to Shelby Valley; Williams passes for 150 yards in setback

SALYERSVILLE - Magoffin County remained in the loss column as visiting Shelby Valley pulled away to win 40-0 in an early-season high school football game on Friday night. 

The Wildcats prevailed in a battle of winless teams. 
With the loss, Magoffin County dropped to 0-3.
Shelby Valley improved to 1-2 with the win. 
Dominant Shelby Valley rushed for 489 yards. A pair of Shelby Valley running backs combined to rush for over 300 yards. The visiting team’s leading ground gainer, Seth Johnson rushed 13 times for 231 yards and two touchdowns in the Wildcats’ win. 
Another Shelby Valley running back, Jordan Hampton, rushed 21 times for 172 yards and three touchdowns. 
Clay Morgan added a rushing touchdown for Shelby Valley, which took control of the non-district game early. 
Through the air, Valley quarterback Mason Layne attempted only two passes. Layne misfired on each pass attempt, throwing an interception on one of the tosses. 
Luke Adkinson led the Wildcats’ defensive effort with a game-high 11 tackles. 
Shelby Valley defensive players swarmed Magoffin County rushers throughout the non-district game. 
Magoffin County was held to -34 rushing yards. Ryan Mullins was the only Hornet rush for positive yardage. Mullins took one carry for three yards. 
But the Hornets fared well through the air. First-year Magoffin County quarterback Dillon Williams completed 11-of-19 passes for 150 yards. 
Spreading the football around, Williams completed at least one pass to five different receivers. 
Brady Whitaker led the Hornets in receiving, hauling in four receptions for 65 yards 
Mullins paced the Hornets defensively, registering a game-high 14 tackles. 
Brandon Hackworth recorded an interception and added six tackles for the Hornets,. 
Williams and Dalton Peters posted nine tackles apiece, Travis Gibson delivered eight tackles and Matthew Matthew made six stops.
Magoffin County is scheduled to visit Betsy Layne for another non-district game on Friday, Sept. 9. 



Ligula dignissim tempor montes laoreet adipiscing metus ullamcorper sapien nostra sollicitudin convallis mi purus rutrum