Skip to main content

Council meets: December 2016

SALYERSVILLE – The Salyersville City Council met in regular session on Monday, December 19, in the last meeting for the year. 

Salyersville Mayor James “Pete” Shepherd presented plaques honoring city council members Mary Ann Ward and Kenneth “Poor Boy” Williams for their service to the City of Salyersville. Ward has served since the beginning of last year and Williams has been on the council for 15 years. Neither are returning to the council in January.

Mayor Shepherd updated the council on the city’s financial status as the calendar year comes to a close, reporting that they have $92,737 in the general fund, $47,092 in the LGEA fund, $7,171 in the road fund, $6,694 in payroll, $10,597 in the public funds account and $18,313 in the tourism fund, for a total of $140,307.49 (as of December 19). Shepherd said they are currently on schedule with their budget for the fiscal year of 2016 and 2017. 

In his mayor’s report, Mayor Shepherd said that they have the snow plow and salt sprayer installed on the truck and they have salt, so the city is ready for winter.

The city’s Christmas parade was the biggest Salyersville has had, Shepherd said, with more participation that previous years. He thanked the store owners for decorating their storefronts. In total, the city collected $2,000 for the toy drive. Shepherd thanked the Magoffin County High School’s Beta club students for wrapping the presents from the toy drive. All toys not given out the night of the parade were given to the children in the local Head Start program and to a couple of organizations working with social services. 

Mayor Shepherd said the audit for the most recent fiscal year is slated to be completed by the end of the week, keeping them up to date with their audits. 

Shepherd told the council he had received a call from WYMT asking for a letter from the city to help them get approval from the Federal Communications Commission to go on satellite. Shepherd said he believes this would be a service to the community and he plans to write the letter.

The Salyersville City Council members who will take office in January have been sworn in and are officially ready to serve, including Tom Frazier, Paul Burchell, Tex Holbrook, Jeffery D. Bailey, Jeff Ross and Tommy Bailey. 




Ligula dignissim tempor montes laoreet adipiscing metus ullamcorper sapien nostra sollicitudin convallis mi purus rutrum