Skip to main content

2A Championships: Hornets to compete in Section 8


staff file photo
Magoffin County's Mason Lovely (12) eyed a Lawrence County shot during a 2A 15th Region game in the 2018-19 boys' high school basketball season. Randy Bailey (23) is also pictured for the Hornets. 

SALYERSVILLE - Magoffin County will compete in Section 8 of the Kentucky 2A Championships during the 2019-20 boys' and girls' high school basketball seasons. 

In addition to Magoffin County, Section 8 will include Belfry, Floyd Central, Lawrence County, Pike County Central and Morgan County. 

Earlier in the year, Magoffin County hosted 2A 15th Region basketball tournaments.

Christian Academy-Louisville (Boys' Basketball) and John Hardin (Girls' Basketball) captured the inaugural Kentucky 2A titles. 

The alignment for the 2019-20 Kentucky 2A Championships follows. 

Section 1: Calloway County, Hopkins County Central, Trigg County, Union County, Webster County.
Section 2: Allen County-Scottsville, Franklin-Simpson, Warren Central, Warren East, Adair County, Hart County.
Section 3: Thomas Nelson, Nelson County, John Hardin, LaRue County, Marion County, Taylor County. 
Section 4: Christian Academy-Louisville, Henry County, Owen County, Shelby County, Western Hills.
Section 5: Bourbon County, Harrison County, Mason County, Pendleton County, Rowan County. 
Section 6: Boyle County, East Jessamine, Garrard County, Lexington Catholic, Mercer County. 
Section 7: Bell County, Corbin, Knox Central, McCreary Central.
Section 8: Belfry, Floyd Central, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Pike County Central, Morgan County.


Steve LeMaster

ARH Top 10 Employers