Magoffin County Candidate Filings, 1-15-14

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

SALYERSVILLE - The election season is in full swing. With the January 28 filing deadline closing in, 65 candidates have filed for office, as of press time (1-15-14).

Candidates are as follows:


*Party indicated by (D ) for Democrat, (R) for Republican. Italicized names are those that have filed since the last time this list appeared in the Independent.


County Judge

Haden Bryan (HB) Arnett (D)

Charles "Doc" Hardin (D)

John D. Carty (R)

John Montgomery (R)

Jerold Howard (R)


County Clerk         

Johnny Kelse Arnett (D)

Renee Shepherd (D)

Josie Wireman Bailey (R)



Tim Watkins (D)

Rick Jordan (D)

Randall "Bob" Jordan (D)

Clayton D. Howard (D)

Joshua Shepherd (D)

Arthur Perkins (D)

Garlena Minix Lykins (R)

Michael Nickels (R)

Hetsel Minix (R)

Carson Montgomery (R)


County Attorney

Jeffery N. Lovely (D)

Greg Allen (D)



Michael Paul Howard (D)

Mark Jenkins (D)

Paul L. Burchell (R)


Magistrate #1

Ralph (Doug) Allen (D)

Gary "Rooster" Risner (D)

Frankie Howard (D)

Tony "Chico" Risner (D)

Bob "Bobby" Bailey (R)

Brandon "Chicken Wing" Minix (R)

Magistrate #2

Garrett Ward (D)

Pernell "Buck" Lemaster (D)

Johnny Bentley (R)


Magistrate #3

Larry (Bubby) Carpenter (D)

Ebb Shepherd (D)

Everett Allen (D)

Kellie Lee Miller (D)

Zachary Montgomery (D)

Brandon Isaac (D)

Matthew Chalmer Wireman (D)

Billy Brown (D)

Jason Thomas Howard (D)

Ronnie Lovely (R)

Robert Lee Patrick (R)

Paula K. Peterson (R)

Glenn Burkes (R)



Jerry Swiney (D)



Bryan Montgomery (D)

Tex Holbrook (D)

Ryan D. Arnett (R)

Greg Minix (R)

Kenny Belcher (R)


Constable #1

Hanson Rowe (D)

Cleve "Cooge" Howard (D)

David L. Back (D)

Tim (Pooh Bear) Howard (D)

Dewayne Elwood Perkins (D)

James E. Rudd (R)

James R. Puckett (R)


Constable #2

Ronnie Edward Slone (D)

Fonzie Howard (D)

Steven Lackey (D)

Stevie Pelphrey (D)


Constable #3

Joe Bailey (D)

Alvin Craft (D)

Courtney Lee Risner (R)